Foreign Fire Insurance Board

Members Position
Benjamin Dwyer President
Matthew Bohnen Secretary
Charles Myers Treasurer
Paul Davis Treasurer
Bryan Earl Treasurer
Javier Salgado Treasurer
Fire Chief Peter Sutter Ex-Officio Member


There is hereby established in the City a Foreign Fire Insurance Board in accordance with 65 ILCS 5/11-10-2 et. seq. The Foreign Fire Insurance Board shall be administered by a Board of Trustees as provided by said law.



The Foreign Fire Insurance Board’s duties are to receive and account for revenues from the 2% tax on fire insurance policies sold by foreign (out of state) insurance companies on properties located or conducting business within the City and to use these funds for the maintenance, use, and benefit of the Fire Department.


The Foreign Fire Insurance Board meets quarterly in March, June, September, and December. Please review the City's calendar for exact dates.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees shall consist of the following seven members of the fire department: six members will be elected by the certificated members of the fire department and the seventh position will be the Fire Chief. All Board members have the power to vote.